What do people like about Hatsune Miku?

This is a question I’ve been asking myself for years. I’m by no means here to insult or aggravate the thousands, if not, millions of fans that likes Hatsune Miku. However I would love to hear, what do they like about this?

I like music, I wouldn’t consider myself a knowledgeable person in the area. Between Hatsune Miku and “normal music” I would choose the latter. Now, I bring this because for some weird reason, every time I see people that are new, or ignorant about anime/manga fandom it generates this overgeneralization that we like Hatsune Miku.

That is farther from the truth. I’ve been watching anime for 8-9 years now. By no means do I like Hatsune Miku music. I rather listen to Dream Theater, Bonobo, or Metallic S&M album. Hatsune Miku feels unnatural, I can’t just appreciate the voice. I do appreciate the track, but the voice? I just can’t bring myself to like it.

It’s pretty much a hit or miss. The process of figuring out why people like is what’s bugging me. Usually I’m the type that says “do you like it? then go for it”.

One thought on “What do people like about Hatsune Miku?

  1. torisunanohokori

    I’ve never really understood the appeal of Vocaloid, and that’s put me in the minority of pretty much every group I’m in. I would rather listen to ACDC or regular Jpop. It’s not like I hate it, it just doesn’t instill strong emotions in me. I’m okay with it being popular, but it would be cool too hear a good explanation as to why it’s more popular at cons than most actual anime. I dunno.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

