Can I become a writer?

It’s one of the questions I ask myself on a monthly basis, sometimes weekly. I think part of it comes from my frustration. Most of you don’t know but English is my second language. My native language is Spanish. In a very common note, most of the time I communicate in English, mostly because it’s hard not to.

One of the challenges, for me, of having a second language is that getting the grammar right becomes a pain in the ass. Expanding your vocabulary is also one hell of a ride where you need to keep practicing/memorizing, and choosing the right words for the right moment is where I fail.

Now, why do I want to be a writer? It comes from the fact that I enjoy creating things. I started out as a programmer, creating various applications in PHP, Java, Python, etc. Whatever idea popped into my head, I would go and execute them. The challenges were big, daunting, and most of the time they drove you insane.

Writing doesn’t drive me insane, well, nevermind! It does drive me insane. Think the following:

  • Am I writing this correctly?
  • I’m pretty sure these aren’t the right words I want to use.
  • Goddammit, where’s my thesaurus!

In the span of 2 years I came up with two different titles with different approaches:

  • Inside Nostalgia – It starts in a post-apocalyptic setting where the world population has been decimated. In the new, and broken world there are laws that women aren’t allowed to have children. Nostalgia is born, and she’s fated to unravel the mysteries of the broken world and how it came to be.
  • The Pilgrimage To The Heavens – Saru has a dream, an insane one too! He wants to become God. His goal is to deliver divine punishment and reestablish justice through the lands. Saru’s dreams are ignited after his brother’s death. His elder brother sold his organs to keep his family from starving. Could Saru become a God?

So, in a way I like to think that I have a vivid imagination. Sometimes I toy with different ideas and I love it. It’s just fun, you create situations, places, events and it becomes something I want to share with others.

Which reminds me, I did share a lot of my concepts with some friends. Especially The Pilgrimage To The Heavens did make a big impression, even when I created the concept I was really satisfied with it.

I’m going to wrap this up. I’ve been thinking of becoming an English Teacher, it’s a tough choice for me because I also wanted to become a computer engineer. If you ask me which one is more satisfying I wouldn’t know how to answer that.

Leave your thoughts :]

 

Leave a Reply

